Reference table · Primary sources · Stated negatives
Every claim on this site, and where it comes from
This is the table the rest of the site is built on. Each row names the claim, its primary source, the model it was shown in, the dose where one is stated, and the year. A claim with no row here does not appear anywhere on this site — and the rows recording where we looked and found nothing are included on purpose.
Read the model column carefully. Most of what is known about J147 is known in mice.
Origin and identity
| Claim | Source | Model | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| A synthetic derivative developed from curcumin — not curcumin | Chen Q, Prior M, Dargusch R, … Maher P, Schubert D, PLoS One 2011;6(12):e27865 · PMID 22194796 | chemistry | 2011 |
| Found by phenotypic screening against old-age brain toxicities, not against amyloid | Salk Institute; Goldberg et al. | cell-based screens | 2011–2018 |
| Neurotrophic where curcumin is not; greater stability and bioavailability | Chen et al. 2011; Qiu et al. review | in vitro | 2011 / 2023 |
| CAD-031 is a separate compound derived from J147 — not another name for it | Salk Institute; geroneuroprotector literature | — | 2018–2019 |
| CMS121 is a fisetin derivative — a different lineage entirely | Salk Institute (Maher, Currais) | — | 2018 |
Mechanism
| Claim | Source | Model | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Target is the alpha subunit of mitochondrial F1-ATP synthase (ATP5A) | Goldberg J, Currais A, Prior M, Schubert D, Maher P et al., Aging Cell 2018;17(2):e12715 · PMID 29316249 | cell + mouse | 2018 |
| Alters intracellular calcium handling; engages CAMKK2 / AMPK stress resilience | Goldberg et al. | cell | 2018 |
| ATP synthase described as a target shared by ageing and dementia | Goldberg et al. — the paper's title | — | 2018 |
| Neither an acetylcholinesterase nor a phosphodiesterase inhibitor | Prior et al. | — | 2013 |
Animal efficacy and pharmacokinetics
| Claim | Source | Model | Dose | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reverses cognitive impairment in aged APP/PS1 mice, dosed late in disease | Prior et al., Alzheimer's Res Ther 5:25 | aged transgenic mouse | oral | 2013 |
| Preserves synaptic proteins and cognition across ageing / neurodegeneration models | Qiu et al. review, aggregating primaries | mouse, rat | 1–200 mg/kg/day oral; 200 ppm diet | 2011–2022 |
| Extends lifespan in flies | cited in Goldberg et al. / Salk | Drosophila | — | 2018 |
| Lowers plasma fatty acids via AMPK/ACC1 in liver | Pharmacological Research | mouse | — | 2022 |
| Oral bioavailability ≈ 28 % | Prior et al., PK section | mouse | 20 mg/kg single | 2013 |
| Plasma half-life ≈ 1.5 h; brain half-life ≈ 2.5 h | Prior et al. | mouse | 20 mg/kg | 2013 |
| Brain-to-blood ratio ≈ 0.5; high BBB penetration in MDCK-MDR1 | Prior et al. | mouse; in vitro | 20 mg/kg | 2013 |
The human record, in full
| Fact | Source | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| One Phase 1 trial, completed | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03838185 | “A Phase I, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study to Assess the Safety, Tolerability and Pharmacokinetics of Single Ascending Oral Doses of J147 in Healthy Young Volunteers and Healthy Elderly Volunteers” |
| Sponsor and size | NCT03838185 | Abrexa Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · 64 participants |
| Dates | NCT03838185 | started 22 January 2019 · completed 1 February 2020 |
| Comparator | NCT03838185 intervention record | a single oral dose of corn oil |
| Results | NCT03838185 | hasResults: false — nothing posted, and no peer-reviewed publication of the outcome found |
| Later-phase trials | ClinicalTrials.gov search | none registered |
A completed trial with unpublished results is not evidence of anything — in either direction. It is not a hidden success and it is not a concealed failure. It is an absence, and the honest thing is to record it as one.
The Chinese literature
The most active recent work on J147 is Chinese, and it is under-cited in Western summaries. The groups are named here because they did the work.
| Finding | Source | Model | Dose | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Attenuates sepsis-induced depressive-like behaviour via TLR4/NF-κB in hippocampus and microglia | Qiu F et al., J Mol Histol 2023 · PMID 37676534 (PMC10635911) | mouse + microglia | not stated in abstract | 2023 |
| Narrative review consolidating J147 across nervous-system disease | Qiu F, Wang Y, Du Y, Zeng C, Liu Y, Pan H, Ke C — Shenzhen Second People's Hospital; Guangdong Medical University; Center for Human Tissues & Organs Degeneration. BMC Neurol 2023 · PMID 37674139 | review | — (review) | 2023 |
| Antidepressant-like effects involving 5-HT1A | Lian L et al., Neuropharmacology 2018 · PMID 29626566 | mouse | not stated in abstract | 2018 |
| Sub-acute dosing improves depression-like behaviour via 5-HT1A-mediated cAMP signalling | Li J et al., Front Neurosci 2020;14:701 · PMID 32733195 | mouse | 9 mg/kg, gavage | 2020 |
| Ameliorates diabetic peripheral neuropathy via AMPK negative regulation of TRPA1 | Lv J et al., Acta Cir Bras 2018 · PMID 30020315 | STZ rat | not stated in abstract | 2018 |
| Reduces tPA-induced brain haemorrhage in acute experimental stroke | Jin R et al., Front Neurol 2022;13:821082 · PMID 35309561 | rat | not stated in abstract | 2022 |
| Drives microglia toward a resolving phenotype via CAMKK2/AMPK, reducing neuroinflammation — the first primary to test this site’s own mechanistic claim directly | He L, Ali T, Wei T, Yin H, Yang Y, Zhao Z, Liu H, Tan Z (Shenzhen; Longhua People’s Hospital), Biochem Biophys Res Commun 2025;778:152395 · PMID 40712391 | microglia + mouse | not stated in abstract | 2025 |
| Protects against traumatic brain injury by inhibiting neuronal endoplasmic-reticulum stress, potentially via AMPK/SREBP-1 | Jin R, Wang M, Shukla M, Lei Y, An D, Du J, Li G (Penn State Hershey), Transl Res 2024;274:21–34 · PMID 39245209 | mouse | not stated in abstract | 2024 |
| Affects cognition and anxiety after surgery — a peri-operative model, not a neurodegeneration one | Oberman K, van Leeuwen BL, Nabben M, Villafranca JE, Schoemaker RG (Groningen), Physiol Behav 2024;273:114413 · PMID 37989448 | Zucker rat | not stated in abstract | 2024 |
Where we looked and found nothing
| Question | What was searched | Result |
|---|---|---|
| J147 in autism | PubMed / PMC; the Chinese literature in Chinese; the Russian literature in Russian; the autism-model literature directly (BTBR, prenatal valproic acid, Shank3, Fmr1) | Nothing. No mouse model, no cell model, no case report, no trial. See the autism page, which is built on this absence rather than around it. |
| Russian-language primary research on J147 | CyberLeninka, eLibrary.ru, Russian neurological journals; native-language queries for «J147», «куркумин производное», «нейропротекция», «АТФ-синтаза» | None found. Russian-language coverage of J147 is secondary and popular. Russian primary work on curcumin and on mitochondrial ATP synthase exists and is context — it is never cited on this site as J147 evidence. |
| Full patent family and territory-by-territory expiry | Google Patents / WIPO for the Salk filing | Not established. We have the filing; we do not have the complete family. The chemistry page says so rather than implying a clear field. |
References
- Goldberg J, et al. Aging Cell 2018;17:e12715.
- Prior M, et al. Alzheimer's Research & Therapy 2013;5:25.
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03838185.
- Qiu F, Wang Y, Du Y, Zeng C, Liu Y, Pan H, Ke C. BMC Neurology 2023.
- J147 and sepsis-induced neuroinflammation via TLR4/NF-κB, 2023.
- J147 reduces tPA-induced brain haemorrhage in acute experimental stroke in rats. Front Neurol 2022.
- Sub-acute J147 and depression-like behaviour via 5-HT1A / cAMP. Front Neurosci 2020.
























